Introducing the Mentors


Photo by: Nicole

Alan Baxter

Alan Baxter is a British-Australian author who writes supernatural thrillers and urban horror, rides a motorcycle and loves his dogs. He also teaches Kung Fu. He lives among dairy paddocks on the beautiful south coast of NSW, Australia, with his wife, son, dogs and cat. He’s the multi-award-winning author of several novels and over seventy short stories and novellas. So far. Read extracts from his novels, a novella and short stories at his website – – or find him on Twitter @AlanBaxter and Facebook, and feel free to tell him what you think. About anything. Short stories, novella or novel

Deborah Sheldon

Image Supplied

Deborah Sheldon

Deborah Sheldon’s short fiction has appeared in various magazines such as Aurealis, SQ Mag, Midnight Echo, Island, and Quadrant, as well as in numerous anthologies. Her latest releases include the horror novel, Devil Dragon (Severed Press), and the crime-noir novellas, Dark Waters and Ronnie and Rita (IFWG Publishing Australia). Her work has been shortlisted for Australian Shadows Awards. Upcoming in 2017 will be her collection, Perfect Little Stitches and Other Stories (IFWG), and the romance-suspense novella, The Long Shot (Desert Breeze Publishing). Other credits include TV scripts, feature articles, non-fiction books (Reed Books, Random House), and award-winning medical writing. Visit Deb at Short stories, novella or novel


Image Supplied

Greg Chapman

Greg Chapman is the Bram Stoker Award-nominated® and Australian Shadows Award-nominated author of Hollow House and the author of five novellas: Torment, The Noctuary, Vaudeville, The Last Night of October and The Eschatologist (2016). He is also a horror artist and his first graphic novel Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times, written by authors Rocky Wood and Lisa Morton, won the Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel category at the Bram Stoker Awards® in 2013. Visit him at Short stories, art


Image Credit Art Atelier

Kaaron Warren

Kaaron Warren has been publishing horror and science fiction for more than 20 years. She’s won awards close to home (the ACT Writers and Publishers  Award, three times!) and far away (the Shirley Jackson Award). She’s sold over 200 stories and has 6 short story collections and 4 novels in print. Her most recent novel, The Grief Hole, won the Canberra Critics Award, the Aurealis Award and the Australian Shadows Award and is shortlisted for the Ditmar Award. You can find out more about Kaaron at

Short stories, novella or novel


Image Supplied

Lee Murray

A multi-award winning writer and editor, Lee Murray has seven years experience as a manuscript assessor and mentor. Many of Lee’s mentees have gone on to have their work published, with some winning writing competitions, stipends, and international awards. Her most recent works include Into the Mist (Cohesion) and Hounds of the Underworld, with Dan Rabarts (RDSP). You can find her at her website, Facebook, and Twitter. Short stories, novella or novel


Image Supplied

Charles Lovecraft

Charles Lovecraft started writing in 1975, inspired momentously by H.P. Lovecraft. He formed P’rea Press in 2007 as publisher and editor specialising in weird and fantastic poetry in traditional forms, criticism and bibliography ( He has edited thirty books. Charles has been published in Nyctalops, Eldritch Tales, Fantasy Tales, Pablo Lennis, The Poets Press, Weird Fiction Review, Spectral Realms, Midnight Echo, Black Wings IV (hardcover, paperback, e-book, special signed edition), Australian Fantasy and Horror Magazine, Crypt of Cthulhu, Cthulhu Haiku, Beyond the Cosmic Threshold, Buzzkill: Apocalypse, Eye to the Telescope and Years Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2015. Poetry and editing

Shane Jiraiya Cummings1 Jan 2016 72dpi

Image Supplied

Shane Jiraiya Cummings

Shane Jiraiya Cummings is the Executive Editor of the resurrected Midnight Echo. Before that, he edited Midnight Echo #2 with Angela Challis and Dead of Night: The Best of Midnight Echo. He also edited the bestselling anthology Rage Against the Night and several award-winning magazines and anthologies such as Shadowed Realms, Black: Australian Dark Culture, HorrorScope, Shadow Box and Black Box. As an author, Shane has been acknowledged as “one of Australia’s leading voices in dark fantasy”. His books include The Abandonment of Grace and Everything After, Shards, the Apocrypha Sequence (Deviance, Divinity, Inferno, and Insanity), and the Ravenous Gods cycle (Requiem for the Burning God and Dreams of Destruction). Website: Midnight Echo Co-editor mentorship – two mentorships available: one in 2017, one in 2018