Lee Murray nominated for SJV Award

For many authors the opportunity to be published is one of the greatest achievements of ones career, knowing that out there somewhere your book is being read by people directly interested in the genre.

And while this is the ideal outcome for any author out there, there are also those that deserve recognition for the work they put in to their craft. Not only mastering the art of writing and developing stories that everyone wants to read but at the same time giving back and supporting the community that they have come through to reach their pinnacle of their highly coveted careers.

This is exactly why it was no surprise to see New Zealand-based Australasian Horror Writers Association author Lee Murray nominated by the fans for the Sir Julius Vogel Award for Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror.

The Sir Julius Vogel Awards are named after the eighth Prime Minster of the Land of the long white cloud – New Zealand, where after his life in politics became the first New Zealander to write a science-fiction novel: Anno Domini 2000, or Woman’s Destiny, published in 1889. It anticipated a utopian world where women held many positions of authority.

The Awards themselves are administered by Science Fiction and Fantasy in New Zealand (‘SFFANZ’) and are to recognise excellence in Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror by New Zealanders. The Sir Julius Vogel Awards are given for work by fans and professions that was undertaken, completed or released in the year previous to voting.

Lee won the Sir Julius Vogel Award for Best Short Story for her contribution of “The Thief’s Tale” in Volume 1 of The Refuge Collection – edited by former AHWA President Steve Dillon – in 2016.

Heading into the 2017 awards where the winners will be announced at Lexicon 2017 – Lee has been nominated for Best Bovel – for Into the Mist (Cohesion Press) – as well as for her Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror.

Lee Murray works tirelessly for the New Zealand and Australian horror genre communities with her name synonymous for being on the judging panels for various awards in both New Zealand and in Australia. She kindly writes and edits as well as offers advice for The Refuge Collection series of books, all for charity with no payment.

Friends and Colleagues would describe Lee as also being imaginative, courteous, diligent and talented.

Lee is an award-winning writer and editor in her own right and is an active member of New Zealand and Australia’s Science Fiction and Horror communities through a variety of advocacy, community-building and mentorship programs. Lee gives her time to be a facilitator/presenter of writing workshops for children and young people.

Lee actively develops ties with overseas publishers, genre and writing groups, where she has long been an ardent advocate and promoter of New Zealand and Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror. Lee is also an active member of a wide range of professional organisations including the Horror Writers Association (HWA), the Australasian Horror Writers Association (AHWA) Tauranga Writers, Bookrapt, Freelance and SFFANZ.

“I am delighted to be nominated,” Lee said.

“It’s a huge honour.”

Other members of the AHWA who have been nominated for awards at the annual ceremony include: Dan Rabarts for Tipuna Tapu and Spindle for Best Novella / Novelette, both Dan Rabarts and Lee Murray for ‘At the Edge‘ for Best Collected Work, and many others.

You can purchase your copy of Into the Mist written by Lee Murray and published by Cohesion Press on Amazon. The winners will be announced at the 38th New Zealand National Science Fiction and Fantasy Convention held on the 2-4 June 2017 at the Suncourt Hotel in Taupo.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply