Southern Horror Yahoo Group

Australian Shadows Awards

Entries for the 2015 AHWA Australian Shadows awards will open on October 15. 

The awards celebrate the finest in horror and dark fiction published by an Australian or New Zealander for the calendar year of 2015. Works are judged on the overall effect - the skill, delivery, and lasting resonance - of a story. 

Previous winners have included Greg McLean, Aaron Sterns, Lee Battersby, Terry Dowling, Paul Haines, Brett McBean, Kirstyn McDermott, Bob Franklin, Kaaron Warren, Will Elliott, Deborah Biancotti, and Amanda Spedding.

Entries are open across seven categories including short fiction, long fiction (novellas), novels, collections and edited works.

The 2015 awards will also introduce two new categories, The Rocky Wood Award for Non-fiction and Criticism - named after former HWA president and AHWA member Rocky Wood - and graphic novels/comics (for works written by an Australian or New Zealand writer).

This year's awards will be adjudicated by a panel of judges comprising of Anthony Fergurson, Christine Ferdinands, Lee Pletzers, David Kernot, Louise Zedda-Sampson, Emmet O'Cuana, Mark Smith-Briggs, Tracie McBride, Kathy Williams-DeVries, Lee Battersby and Greg Chapman. The judges' bios, and categories they are judging, can be read here.

Read the Award Entry Guidelines to find out how to enter works for consideration.

To see who the winners and finalists were from previous years, check out the Past Winners page. You're bound to find some good books to read there. 

Follow regular updates on the Australian Shadows Awards Facebook page

Australian Shadows Awards | Promote Your Page Too

The 2015 Trophies

The Australian Horror Writers Association would like to thank @Creepy Collectables for creating the 2015 Australian Shadows Trophies.

Creepy Collectables” is a collection of macabre art and curios created by “The Krypt Creature”.

To see more of The Krypt Creatures work simply follow this link to his store

To show some love, like Creepy Collectables facebook page

From Creepy Collectables: Creepy Collectables and The Krypt Creature would like to thank The Australian Horror Writers Association for the chance to help reward those who bring more horror into the world. It was a dark delight to create the trophies for The 2014 Australian Shadows Awards. Congratulations to all the winners, The Krypt Creatures loves a great terrifying tale.

When you receive your awards we at Creepy Collectables would love to see them on your mantle so why not share a picture of them on our facebook page.

History of the Australian Shadows Awards

The award was set up thanks to the kind sponsorship of Altair Australia, who donated a collection of hand-painted awards created by acclaimed dark fantasy master Brom and supplied by The Franklin Mint. The Brom statuettes were used as prizes from 2005 to 2009, and garnered quite a reputation among the spec-fic community, becoming known as the 'naked lady' trophies.

The awards initially only had one category between 2005-2008, and a panel of judges would select their finalists from the wide spectrum of fiction writing (short stories, novels, collections, anthologies, etc). This list was then passed onto a guest judge, who had the onerous task of selecting a winner.

In 2009, it was decided to create different categories to better represent the different skills involved in writing different length fiction. The new categories were Long Fiction, Short Fiction, and Edited Publications. The categories were again expanded upon in 2011, with Novel, Long Fiction, Short Fiction, Collection, and Edited Publications.

From 2010-2012, all Australian Shadows winners were awarded a trophy and $250 (a total prize pool of $750). The trophies changed in shape and style as the Australian Shadows Awards evolved. In 2012, one of the leaders in horror special effects for the Australian film industry, Nightshade FX, provided the skull trophies, but unfortunately, these were not available for the following year.

As of 2013, no prize money is offered, and an all new trophy design has been sought and acquired. 

2008 Award Statue
 2012 Award from of Nightshade FX